Deleting Data

This screen allows you to start, to monitor and to control a deletion process.

The Delete data dialog (fig. 1) dialog will upon initiation of the data transfer. Some program functions will show a Security Query before starting. In this case, check the Status Panel for correct settings. If needed, return with  Back  and adjust the settings. Select  Start  to start the deletion process.

'Delete data' dialog‌
fig. 1: 'Delete data' dialog

Status Display

Indicators are located to both sides of the control panel, which show the status of the deletion process.

StatusDescription
Sectors processedAbsolute number of sectors that have already been deleted.
RunNumber of deletion runs initiated up to this point.
Write errorsAmount of write errors encountered. Number may decrease if errors can be fixed.
Verification errorsThis indicator is only used when Verify is selected.
RuntimeTime elapsed since the start of the deletion process.
Time remainingEstimated time remaining for the entire deletion process.
Data rateAverage data rate attained up to this point.
Buffer sizeSize of the internally used buffer.

Percentage Display

The percentage display (fig. 1), located below the deletion animation, shows the progress of the current run in percent.

Progress Bar

The progress bar (fig. 1) below the percentage indicator shows the progress of the current run. Above the progress bar to the left, the active run type is shown.

Deletion Process

The entire process consists of several runs that are determined by the selection of the Deletion Methods. First, a regular deletion run is executed along with an optional Verification Run. Each deletion run can be followed by a complementary run with an inverted deletion pattern, as well as an optional Verification Run. This sequence can be repeated up to 99 times. Depending on the deletion method chosen, a final run with random numbers and an optional Verification Run can be performed. Program functions of the custom group therefore allow up to 398 runs. Additionally, a number of troubleshooting runs can be perfomed with the SmartDefectSkip option.

Note: In this instruction, the term 'deletion process' is used to describe the complete process with all of its corresponding runs (deletion, verification, troubleshooting).

Cancellation by User

 Stop  interrupts the process (fig. 2). You may then either continue the process or ultimately cancel it. You will then obtain a Deletion report.

Cancel deletion‌
fig. 2: Cancel deletion
Note: By activating the SmartDefectSkip option, it is ensured that, even when the deletion process is prematurely aborted, the highest achievable security level possible is reached up to that point.
Example: If a seven-run deletion process is aborted after its third run, the security level of a three-run deletion process will apply.

Regular Termination

Once all runs are finished, the deletion process is terminated normally. A Final Report for the complete deletion process will be shown in a dialog.