Save changes (Snapshot)

This app saves the changes that have been made to a data storage device since the last full backup. This type of backup is called a differential backup because the backup file only contains the changes. The desired status can then be restored together with the full backup.

Since a differential backup always determines the difference to an existing full backup, this must be available and specified. A separate image is then created that contains the identified changes compared to the full backup.

Apart from that, the operation of "Save Changes" works very similarly to the full backup.

This app complements the "Full Backup" app because it can be used to save changes since the last full backup.

Save changes‌
Save changes

Base image

Select a base image that has already been created.

Partitions

The layout of the backed up partition(s) on the source is shown in a bar below the disk selection dropdown menu. By clicking on individual partitions in this bar, you can directly select and deselect them to include or exclude them from the copy. Open the PartitionSelect component using the options link. Here you can view details about the partitions while making your selections.

Source

The origin of the base image is displayed and preselected here.

More details and settings

Use to open the More Details and Options dialog box. Here you can find technical data for the source disk and make HPA and DCO settings.

Unlock HPA: unlock HPA (Host Protected Area) to save the data contained therein to the image.

Remove HPA+DCO: remove HPA and DCO in order to save the data contained therein with the image. This will permanently change the HPA and DCO configuration for the source disk.

HotCopy/LiveImage (HDClone/W only): choose an option for access from the HotCopy/LiveImage dropdown.

Options

Advanced Options

In addition to the options above, there are Advanced Options … to choose from Options.

Erweiterte Optionen‌
Extended options

Start backup

Start saving the changes with Start . The progress bar shows the current status of the backup in percent. To cancel the process, click Cancel .

Finish

Once the process is complete, the Status component appears, informing you about the process and the result of the backup. You can also open the Status component with while the process is still active to track the details of the process.